Go back to normal view

 

Show Description

St John's Church Harpenden
December 2018

Saturday 1st December 2018 10:00Reaching New People: Please join us for an informal morningPlease join us for an informal morning of thinking, exploring and dreaming about how we might best serve our parish community. A great way to start the new church year! We will be in the church hall. Fresh coffee, fruit and pastries. Please email James Brown to let him know you are coming.
Sunday 2nd December 2018 08:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion
16:30Christingle Service at St Nicholas ChurchRead our flyer for more information.
18:30Advent hymns and readings, followed by refreshments
Monday 3rd December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Tuesday 4th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 5th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy CommunionA 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)
17:00Evening Prayer
20:00Night PrayerA short candlelit prayer service
Thursday 6th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
20:00Beer and Carols (The Engineer Pub)A festive singalong
Sunday 9th December 2018 08:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion
18:30Evensong
Monday 10th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
20:00Fellowship & Study GroupIn the Committee room
Tuesday 11th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 12th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy CommunionA 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)
14:00St Luke's CellAt a Parishioner's home - contact Parish Office for details
17:00Evening Prayer
20:00Night PrayerA short candlelit prayer service
Thursday 13th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
13:30Little AcornsIn the Parish Hall
17:00Evening Prayer
Friday 14th December 2018 15:00Tea at 3 Christmas SpecialFriendly companionship over a cup of tea, homemade cakes and sandwiches. Special Christmas music from the Grove Junior choir and orchestra
Saturday 15th December 2018 10:30Coffee Concert - Roger Carter (Organ) [More..]Free Advent and Christmas themed organ concert and coffee
Sunday 16th December 2018 08:00Holy Communion
09:30All Age Christmas Nativity Service (with communion)
14:30Family Baptism
17:00Carol singing in the neighbourhoodAn evening of carolling ending at St John’s for prayers and festive refreshments
18:30Evensong
Monday 17th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
20:00Hardynge Choir Carol ConcertIn Church. Tickets and Details on their website.
Tuesday 18th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 19th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy CommunionA 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)
17:00Evening Prayer
20:00Night PrayerA short candlelit prayer service
Thursday 20th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
14:00Elizabeth Brown: Internment of AshesFamily flowers only. If you wish to make a donation in lieu of flowers these should be sent to L.C.Weston Harpenden. Donations will benefit the Mothers Union and the Chemotherapy Unit at the Luton & Dunstable Hospital.
17:00Evening Prayer
Sunday 23rd December 2018 08:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion
18:30Evensong
18:30Community Carol ServiceA service of nine lessons and carols followed by mulled wine and mince pies
Monday 24th December 2018 08:30Morning Prayer
15:00ʻWalking to Bethlehemʼ (more..)Telling the Christmas story as we walk through Southdown. Meet by the Christmas tree on the green opposite the Co-op and end at St Johnʼs. Ideal for children
23:30Midnight Communion
Tuesday 25th December 2018 Christmas Day
08:00Christmas Day Parish Communion
09:30Christmas Day Parish Communion (ideal for Children)
Sunday 30th December 2018 08:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion
Monday 31st December 2018 New Years Eve