Calendar

Printer Friendly | Display as Grid
<< October

November

Friday 1st November 201900:00Dorcas

In the Committee Room

08:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Sunday 3rd November 201908:00Holy Communion
09:30All-age Communion service

Celebrating all the saints of the Church and the examples they give us of how to live well.

Note: There will be in Incense at this service.

16:00Faith and Light (in the Parish Hall)
18:30All Souls Service of Remembrance

All are welcome to join us for this special occasion to remember those we love but see no longer.

This simple service of hymns and readings will include an opportunity to light a candle in the memory of a loved one, holding that light is greater than darkness, love is stronger than death.

The names of all those whose funerals have taken place at St Johns in recent years will be read out. If you would like us to add further names to this list then please do let us know at parish@stjohnsharpenden.org.uk

Monday 4th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Tuesday 5th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
10:30Funeral in church for Anthony Whittaker
16:00Project Phoenix Steering Group Meeting
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 6th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy Communion
A 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)
17:00Evening Prayer
19:30Mothers’ Union meeting

In the Committee Room

Thursday 7th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
13:30Little Acorns

In the Parish Hall

17:00Evening Prayer
Friday 8th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Saturday 9th November 201910:00Seeking the Way?

Seeking the Way is a 3-week course of exploration days for anyone who is interested in thinking more deeply about Christian discipleship.  For some, this may mean greater involvement in on-going church activities; for some it may mean exploring authorised ministry of some sort.  The course is for anyone seeking to know better how and where to serve God, at work or at church. The course will run on Saturdays 05 October, 19 October & 09 November, 10am – 4pm.  If you are interested, please speak to a member of the ministry team.

Sunday 10th November 2019 Remembrance Sunday
08:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion

There will be no coffee after the service today as we will be attending the War Memorial for 10.45 am

15:00Coffee Concert - Organ & Chamber Organ

By Terence Charlston

18:30Evensong
Monday 11th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Tuesday 12th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 13th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy Communion
A 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)
14:00St Luke's Cell

In the Committee Room

17:00Evening Prayer
Thursday 14th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
12:00Soup4TheSoul: Holy Communion

Please contact the Parish Office if you need a lift

12:30Soup4TheSoul: Soup
13:30Little Acorns

In the Parish Hall

17:00Evening Prayer
Friday 15th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Saturday 16th November 201919:30Lea Singers Concert (in Church)

Do join The Lea Singers for their concert, when they will be importing a Hauptwerk digital organ that evokes the sound of the Cavaillé-Coll organ at Notre-Dame Cathedral, played by fantastic organist Jeremiah Stephenson .  Tickets are £15 for adults and £7 for under-18s, from leasingers.co.uk (booking fee).

Sunday 17th November 201908:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion
11:30Family Baptism
18:30Evensong
Monday 18th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Tuesday 19th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 20th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy Communion (Mothers' Union Corporate)

A 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)

17:00Evening Prayer
Thursday 21st November 201908:30Morning Prayer
13:30Little Acorns

In the Parish Hall

17:00Evening Prayer
Friday 22nd November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Sunday 24th November 201908:00Holy Communion
09:30Parish Communion
10:45Traidcraft Stall during Coffee time
18:30Celtic Prayer
Monday 25th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Tuesday 26th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
17:00Evening Prayer
Wednesday 27th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
09:30Holy Communion

A 'Said' Holy Communion, held in the Lady Chapel (behind the altar)

10:30Deanery Advent Service

Location: TBA

17:00Evening Prayer
Thursday 28th November 201900:00Parochial Church Council

Expected to be in the Committee Room

08:30Morning Prayer
13:30Little Acorns

In the Parish Hall

17:00Evening Prayer
Friday 29th November 201908:30Morning Prayer
15:00Tea at 3 in the Parish Hall

Please contact the Parish Office if you need a lift

17:00Evening Prayer
17:30Southdown Lights Up

The Christmas lights will be turned on and St Johns will be there again. As in previous years we will have a stall to give out flyers about our Christmas and Advent activities and also free cakes and snacks.

If you think you could help by either being a friendly face at the stall or by donating small snacks to give away, then please be in touch with James Brown

Saturday 30th November 201920:00St Albans Chamber Opera concert: Gilbert & Sullivan

An evening with Mr WS Gilbert and Mr Arthur Sullivan

More details (including ticket booking) at http://stalbanschamberopera.org.uk/St_Albans_Chamber_Opera/Programme.html

<< October